Posted in Loved it/Hated it

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

Loved it-hated it

I love to read books and I love books themselves.

That being said, not all books leave a big impact on me. “The Night Circus” by Erin Morgenstern it´s and it isn´t one of those books. On one side, is a book that I truly enjoyed and made me tried new things (for the first time in my life I did my nails based on a book!) but on the other, I can´t say that it´s the best or even one of the best books that I have read.

After reading the book for the second time, I tried to discern why?, after all I found Erin´s narrative compelling and catching; I loved the characters that I was supposed to love, hated the ones that surely the author intended for me to dislike, and felt horribly for the ones that were caught in the crossfire between or main characters; the book also has all the elements of previous books like this one -although I gotta admit there´s no other book quite like this one- I have read: the air of mistery and magic, the undying romance,the dream of adventure and clues that can help you try to piece everything together before the Grand Finale.

At the end, the only conclusion I could reach is that the synopsis of the book and the setting the author did at the begining, messed with my expectations.

The summary says “… a fierce competition is underway—a duel between two young magicians, Celia and Marco, who have been trained since childhood expressly for this purpose by their mercurial instructors. Unbeknownst to them, this is a game in which only one can be left standing…”, but in reality this firce competition never happens; there´s a copetition for sure but there´s no dule or a sense of inminent danger.

Outside of that, the love story between Marcos and Celia is truly magical and passionated, the character develompment entretaining, the story structure fascinating -if at moments nerve craking- the chracater captivaiting – I specially liked the kids “Poppet, Bailey and Widget”, and the circus is just as explendid as stated by the characters.

Above all the things metioned before, the ones I liked the must were the characters and the circus. Oh how I fell in love with that circus! I think almost as much as Bailey; so much that I find it really difficult to choose which was my favorite part of it.

All in all, “The Night Circus” might not be and epic book for the ages, or the best book I have ever read, but it sure is its own little gem and, if you love magic and don´t mind a slow pacing with detail descriptions; it´ll surely turn you into a rêveurs (a dreamer).

Leave a Reply

