Posted in Keeping or leaving?

M.O.D.O.K. Assasin: Mental Organism Designed Only for… Loving?

Keeping or leaving

If you had told me a couple of months ago, that M.O.D.O.K. would be the main protagonist of one of my favorite comics to come from the whole Secret Wars event, I´d have asked you: in what universe?

55ae8d3ebd85b.jpgI have never liked M.O.D.O.K., probably because I never got his appeal -his design was horrible, he never really seemed like a threat and honestly he reminded me of that annoying know it all kid that seems to be present in every classroom-; and even though I read his short story on Battleworld #1 -I think- and thought of it as entertaining, M.O.D.O.K. just wasn´t my cup of tea.

So… what changed? Nothing really, just that starting Secret Wars I decided to go in and read as many tie-ins as it was possible and M.O.D.O.K Assassin #1 written by Chris Yost and draw by Amilcar Pinna, happened to be one of the first ones I read, and I haven´t regretted it yet.

While not the best story to begin with M.O.D.O.K. is entertaining and fun to read non-the-less!, the colors are vibrant, the design of characters is just dynamic enough to work in the battels that take place, the paneles are presented just fine to showcase all the action and killing that´s going on in KillVille -pun totally intended I bet-, and is quite interesting to read what´s going on in this M.O.D.O.K.´s head.

portrait_incredibleAs for M.OD.OK. himself, thsi version of him is probably the dumbest one I have read -although as I said, I´m not really a fan- but it´s also probably the most effective one at killing that I have seen, and the must fun and entretaining one .

Seing M.O.D.OK. trying to woo Thor Angela in his own particular way is really funny, as are his reactions to the things that she says and does. What´s worse -or best- is that I can see this version of Angela working as a couple with M.O.D.O.K. ´cause she´s as agressive and bloodthisty as him -may be even more-.

With only one issue left for this series, I gotta say that I´m really gonna miss it, although I can´t imagine how this could keep going or work after Secret Wars.

That being said M.O.D.O.K Assassin is in my opinion worth keeping, and I´m anxiously waiting for it to be available in my country.

Leave a Reply

