Posted in Streaming

Ore Monogatari: The typical not so typical Shoujo

Streaming

Lately, I haven´t seen a lot of anime. This isn´t precisely uncommon after all, even though I love anime and manga, I have my lapses.

There are years where I watch anime almost non-stop through the whole 365 and then… there´s the dark years where hardly any anime catches my eye.

Right now I´m almost certainly in one of the former periods of time; I haven´t seen that many animes,and there hasn´t been one that I´m following close -the last ones I think were… Shingeki no Kyoujin and Haikyuu!
Luckily, in the middle of this dark ages, there´s been a couple of animes that have been pushing me towards the light!

Animes that have reminded me why I love this media of entertainment so much, and along this animes is Ore Monogatari.

A shoujo in ways just like every other shoujo I have seen, but at the same time completely different.

The protagonist of this story is just like every male lead archetype in this genre, he´s strong and brave, kind and completely in love with the girl, incapable of looking at any other girl like that.

The only thing that really differences Takeo -the protagonist- from the typical male lead is his looks that make him look more like a support character and is in fact, his best friend Suna who looks more like the typical bishounen.

Outside of that Ore Monogatari pretty much seems like any other shoujo, Yamato -Takeo´s love interest and girlfriend- is as her name indicates the traditional Japanese beauty, a quiet, shy beautiful girl; that loves to cook -and is great at it-, etc.

What makes this anime really different and unique, is the fact that is a shoujo told from the male lead´s point of view, and that the friendship between Takeo and Suna, is as important as the relationship between Takeo and Yamato; and that ladies and gentlemen, is refreshing.

For the moment, Ore Monogatari, is the kind of anime that is fun, sweet and entertaining, and that also makes you reflect on the relationships and the people in your life.

As I haven´t finished watching it yet, I don´t know if this changes -I hope it doesn´t- but for now Ore Monogatari is a great anime that I´m truly enjoying, has depth and it´s different enough to shine in the middle of the big quantity of animes that have been coming out in the last few years.

Leave a Reply

