Posted in Early reading thoughts

Fred The Vampire Accountant “Highlighted Monday & Early thoughts”

Early reading thoughts

 

hm

 

Highlighted Mondays is a weekly meme hosted by Rebeca at “Books and Messy Buns”. that everybody can join!

You just have to pick the book that you´re currently reading (be it physical or electronic), find a sentence that you liked (´cause it was funny, cute, mysterious or you just found interesting), highlight the sentence,  include the title of the book and name of the author, post it on your blog, twitter, etc., and that´s it!

Note: Please  rememeber to refer the host of the meme in your own post and leave a comment there with a link to your Highlighted sentence so all the participant can have a look at it.

Since it´s been a long time since the last time I participated on one of Books and Messy Buns book memes -and I have left this blog kind of abandoned- I decided to try once more and do my highlited sentences with my early thoughts on a book I´m currently reading but… I kind of cheated.

My highlighted sentences is:

Highlited Monday-Fred

-The Utterly Uninteresting & Unadventurous Tales of Fred the Vampire Accountant by Drew Hayes

That sentence pretty much sums the book for me, and eventhough it happens not really that early on the book, it was after reading this sentences that I knew for sure that I was in for a fun ride, and what a ride it has been!

The reason why I said that I kind of cheated, is because the sentence I have already pointed out, belongs to the first book of Fred .-for shorts- and right now I´m reading Undeath and  Taxes, the sequel which I´m really enjoying but so far hasn´t had sentences quite like this one that I read in the very first chapter of this series -is it a series?, there´s only been 2 books so far-

So.. Fred, I don´t know where to start except for the fact that I love this series, I knew that I was going to love it from the moment I read the synopsis of the first book and in fact I said so in my previous post, but even having these expectations, nothing could have prepared me for how much I like these books, ´cause they are actually fun! and funny too!

Fred alone is anything but the typical vampire, nor the typical hero for that matter, he´s adorkable!, clever, thoughtful and such a pacifist that you can not help but love how he resolves all of the issues in which he gets involved one way or another, ´cause make no mistakes, Fred might not consider himself a hero and he might not be one in a conventional way, but he is! He really is one.

The sentences above pretty much sums Fred´s first instinct when presented with a conflict, he tries to avoid it at all costs, but when push comes to shove, he would do anything in his power to help the people that he cares about.

Another thing that I loved about this book, is the idea that people don´t change easily. I mean is not as if people are unable to change, it´s just that changing one’s self can be very difficult, especially when you´re trying to change things about yourself that have been in you for years and are pretty much a part of your personality.

The other supporting characters of Fred are also amazing, Bubba the werepony, Albert the zombie, Richard the werelion and even Gideon the Dragon -whose story I´m really interested in, and I´d really like to see-, I guess my only gripe is Chrystal. The revelations of why she was in The agency was interesting and even if I suspected she wasn´t quite human, it still managed to take me by surprise but as far as characters go, she´s the one that I find more one dimensional or cliché.

That being said so far Fred has been an amusing and entertaining read, one that I´ll be sad to finish, I love the world that Drew Hayes has created here, the smart humor that he has put on it and the non coventional paranormal story he has made, and I can only hope there´s more of it ´cause I´m not done with it!

All things been  said, Fred is probably not a book for everybody, your not going to find deep meaningful existential notions here, nor a story big on drama or mistery; but if you like paranormal stories and are looking for a fun, entertaining, action book to enjoy and pass the time, this is definitely the book for you.

Right now, I dreading while anticipating the end of the second book and while it might be early to say so, I think I love these books.

 

 

5 thoughts on “Fred The Vampire Accountant “Highlighted Monday & Early thoughts”

Leave a Reply

