Posted in Loved it/Hated it

Fangirl “1 sentence Wednesday & Review”

Loved it-hated it

OnFeatured imagee Sentence Wednesdays is a weekly meme hosted by Rebeca at “Books and Messy Buns”. that anyone can join!

You just have to pick the book that you´re reading -or just finished-, think about how it made you feel and describe that in one sentence including the title of the book and name of the author.

Note: If you decide to participate, please  refer the host of the meme in your own post and leave a comment there with a link to your 1SW so all the participant can have a look.

I have been waiting for this one for quite a while since it´s been some time since the last time I participated, so imagine the irony when I saw this meme come today and I had no idea of what to write. So… ´cause I didn´t want to missed, I had to go with:

That could have been me.

about Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

My original plan was to read Eleanor & Park –´cause a friend recommended it to me- and then if I liked it, to read myself trough the rest of Rainbow Rowell´s books but while I was looking for it, I found Fangirl at my local bookstore and since I kind of consider myself a fangirl, I decided to check it out -that the cover was colorful and seemed fun also helped- and boy am I glad I did.

Never have I ever read a book and related so much to character how I did with Wren while reading Fangirl, so much that when I was reading it I couldn´t help but tell myself “yeahp, that´s totally me”.

In Fangirl Rainbow Rowell introduces those who aren´t familiar with to the world of fanfiction, a world in which avid fans of a property are able to keep a fandom -fan dominion- can keep a property going for many, many years after the movies, series, books, etc., have finished. And she does it in a good way; ´cause yes there are fans probably reading to much subtext where there´s nothing to read, and yes plagiarism it´s an issue and it shouldn´t be advertised.

But being a fan, being a member of a fandom isn´t necessary that, it´s loving a property, relating to a character and admiring somebody and in a way forgetting your problems and letting off some steam.

Worlds of fiction can sometimes be real art, and exercise in writing that shouldn´t be looked down just ´cause its´s the work of a fan; it can be a beginning for someone who might have had the courage to begin writing otherwise or who didn´t know what s/he could do, and that, that was well reflected here.

Since Fangirl is the first Rainbow Rowell I can´t say this is true for the rest of her works, but I like the focus that she gives into relationship, developing them and watching them flourish; it´s all about the romance, but not only the romantic romance but the friendship one, the family one, the romance of life and that, that was quite refreshing.

Fangirl was for me a refreshing romance book, where emotions and relationships are key and that could have easily fallen into the young adult novels tropes and clichés but somehow manage to escape those and be an entertaining book.

Needless to say that I loved it! and I can´t wait to finish Carry On and read more from this author.

So if you like slow romance, developing relationships, if you were ever a fan of Harry Potter -or any other franchise- this might be just the book for you.

Fangirl, have yo read it? Did you like it? Have you read other Rainbow Rowell books? Which is your favorite? What are your thoughts on fanfiction?

Leave a Reply

