Posted in Loved it/Hated it

Carry On by Rainbow Rowell.- ´Cause sometimes you can only keep moving

Loved it-hated it

I was 11 years old, and I´d lost my mother, and my soul, and the Crucible game me you.

Baz from Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

You have to pretend you get an endgame, You have to carry on like you will; otherwise, you can´t carry on at all.

Simon from Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

wp-1455649507966.jpegIf I could get away with it, I really think I would quote all this book without writing my review, and that´s ´cause I love it!, ´cause there are so many phrases and expressions, sentences and words, that I wouldn´t want anyone to miss.

If you have read my Fangirl review, you would know that I fell in love with the world of Simon Snow before I knew that it existed, I fell in love with the characters and the potential story, trough Cath´s words, and the fictional author Gemma T. Leslie, and though I was very hyped to begin with, nothing could have prepared me for the real deal.

In the world of Simon Snow, there´s magic born from words and normal people, which can be fantastic but it´s thinning. There´s people that aren´t what they seem, vampires who have magic, chosen ones that might not have been chosen and magical revolutions taking place while a Humdrum tries to devour it all.

Some people might read Carry On and be unable to think about Harry Potter, and that´s ok; ´cause Rainbow Rowell was obviously inspired by that series as well as other ones with chosen children, but while I agree that Carry On has similarities with the Potterverse; it´s the difference that make this book for me.

The idea of the power behind everyday and popular words -which in this book are used as spells-, the concept of self-fulfilling prophecies that is taken to a different level in Rowell´s work, the mystery, the politics, and darkness that I couldn´t see even in the darkest of the Harry Potter books, the tragedy, and the love; but over all the relatability.

Rowell´s characters are very real and easy to relate to in their hopes and dreams, their fears and insecurities, as well as how they relate to each other. And she´s able to convey so much in a single book that I cannot help but want more of it. As well as you can not help but love the protagonist Simon and Baz.

.While trying to not spoil anything, all that I can say is that the way Rainbow Rowell decided to present her story is brilliant, ´cause it throws memories and narrates things in such a way that makes yo feel like you have known this characters for as long as they have been at Watford, that you have live through all of their adventures and misadventures.

But outside of the magic and mystery things, Carry On is to me a story about people, about their relationships and how they are able to push through things, to move on when things are difficult and seem hopeless, to take the best that you can and make it work and overall a story about love, and how that no matter in which form it comes is always the best.

If it wasn´t clear enough before, I love Carry On, and I would -and have- recommend it to everyone who ever read Harry Potter, likes magic stories, wants something new and modern, but at the same time familiar.

One thought on “Carry On by Rainbow Rowell.- ´Cause sometimes you can only keep moving

Leave a Reply

