Posted in My Classics

Tanaka-kun wa itsumo kedaruge (Tanaka-kun is always Listless).- A Differente Kind of Anime

My classics

78565lIs it too early to consider this one my favorite anime of the year? So much that I decided to make it my first in My Classics category? Maybe, but the fact is that there´s no anime I have enjoyed quite like this one. I mean yes there´s Shounen Maid, Super Lovers, Boku no Hero AcademiaMy Hero Academia– and many others, but this one, this one is special or at least it is to me.

At the beginning, believe it or not, I saw this anime because of work -I was working as an anime reviewer in a website, and this one was in the animes to watch list- and while it wasn´t even on my radar, this is the anime that I couldn´t miss at all.

From the first episode on, I knew that Tanaka-kun wa itsumo kedaruge (Tanaka-kun is always listless) was going to be my favorite anime of the season, what with the beautiful animation, charming characters, relaxing atmosphere and above all it´s unique light hearted humor.

In fact, my obsession with Tanaka went so far that I got all of my friends to watch it -even the ones that don´t enjoy anime as much as I do-, along with the twitter shorts Tanaka-kun wa kyou mo kedaruge (Tanaka-kun is also listless today), and we have commented it at work or when we´re hanging out.

At first, I didn´t give that much of a thought but now that I think about it, it´s kind of weird that all of my friends liked it, including the not anime lovers, so that got me thinking, what makes Tanaka-kun wa itsumo kedaruge (Tanaka-kun is always listless) so different? And I think I go the answer.

  • It´s relatable
    Everyone can relate to at least one of the main characters if not all of them, all of us have been Tanaka at least once in our lives or Ohta, we have been secretly insecure like Shiraishi or as self-conscious as Miyano.
  • It´s Relaxing
    Maybe it´s a little silly to mention this, considering the fact that this is a healing anime -one that aimed at losing some stress-, but that´s the only think I can think to describe this anime, it relaxes you, makes you have fun and simply decompress for a while, so I guess it was a good thing that it was aired on Saturdays and that the shorts came out at random times during the week.
  • It´s funny
    It is! It´s really funny and not precisely in the conventional way animes tend to be. Tanaka-kun wa itsumo kedaruge (Tanaka-kun is always listless) has funny and silly situations that somehow don´t seem over the top and totally relatable.

 

So… what is this anime I´m waxing so much poetry about. Well, the protagonist is obviously Tanaka and absent-minded highschooler? who only wants to have a calm and relaxing life without excitement or troubles, so much that he´s capable of going to extreme lens only to be able to do so, such as threatening gods, casting spells, and trying to make himself invisible.

Beside him is Ohta his best friend who is everything Tanaka isn’t and as expressed by Tanaka´s sister Rino, facilitates things for Tanaka, carrying him from class to class, or home. Going for his food, etc., to the point that Tanaka himself has recognized he would be unable live without Ohta -he has even proposed to him!-. Worst of all is that Ohta seems to like and need to take care of Tanaka as much as Tanaka likes and needs to be taken care of, so it´s kind of symbiotic?

Tanaka-kun-Ohta-02Therefore even if the series has others characters like Miyano -the little girl who proclaims herself Tanaka´s disciple in order to be more “mature”- and her best friend Echizen -self proclaimed “criminal”, but is a softy and good girl inside-, Shiraishi -class rep, whose true self is nothing like her popular self and felt in love with Tanaka-, Ohta´s and Tanaka´s sister, etc., Ohta and Tanaka are really the heart of the series and you cannot help but love them.

So to conclude -´cause this turned out longer than expected- If you haven´t seen Tanaka-kun wa itsumo kedaruge (Tanaka-kun is always listless), you´re really missing something special, ´cause as far as I can tell there´s no anime like this one, my only complaint is that it was too short, and I still don´t now if there´s going to be a season 2 -crossing fingers and goes to read the manga-

Tanaka-kun-op

If you haven´t seen it yet, what are you waiting for? It is a gem and I warranty that you won´t regret it, but if you have seen it, have you seen the Twitter shorts? What do you like the most about it? and why do you think is such a fun and entertaining series?

Leave a Reply

