Posted in Loved it/Hated it

All the Missing Girls “1 Sentence Wednesday & Review”

Loved it-hated it

 

 

1sw-v2

One Sentence Wednesdays is a weekly meme originally hosted and created by Rebeca at “Books and Messy Buns”,that anyone can join.

Since her blog is going through some changes and I really like her weekly memes, I asked for her permission to continue with them and here we are.

To participate all you have to do is:

Pick up the book you’re currently reading -or read last-, think about what it made you feel -is making you feel-. Describe it in one sentence, make a post in your own blog sharing your sentence and link back to my blog as the host. Finally, share the link to your post in the comments section here for the book community to see:)

Note: Please refer the creator of the meme and the host (this blog/this post) in your own post and leave a comment down below with a link to your 1SW so all the participant can have a look and share their thoughts too!

My Sentence is:

Totally predictable and yet somehow surprising

– about All the Missing Girls by Megan Miranda

So… it´s not a secret that I love mystery novels, so I was really excited when my book club -circle?- decided it was time to read a thriller/mystery/crime novel. And while the book of my choice wasn´t selected –The Killer Next Door by Alex Marwood-, I was more than happy to give this one a chance. After all, it was a mystery novel, sounded similar to Pretty Girls and lots of people have compared it to The Girl on the Train –or at least that´s what the summary description said-.

23212667So, it´s kind of sad to say that I didn´t like the book. In fact, it took me a while to finish it, though thankfully not as log as Battle Royale

Now don´t misunderstand  me, the book is not bad per say, and I can actually see it working on a TV series- be it an event one or mini-, but there´s something in the characters or maybe the narrating style that I didn´t end up buying.

I mean the characters were ok, but since everything was told from Nicolette´s point of view and she was doing her best to distance herself from her town and the people there, I was never able to get a good feel from them. Like I barely knew them, which is why it isn´t all that surprising that I didn´t feel attached to them.

Besides that, thinking about it carefully I don´t think it was the narrating style at all, but the format chosen by the author, at times I wasn´t sure if I was reading a passage on the present or the past, and adding to it the backwards narration of the current time events, well… the reading was sometimes confusing and the characters motive kind of incomprehensible or at least for me. It wasn´t until almost finishing the book that I got why Nicolette was so obsessed with Annaleise and Corrine´s disappearances, so for must of the book, I could only think “why are you even doing this? are you crazy? why don´t you just let the police do their work and leave it?”. I mean I know that she was concerned about her dad and all but… he was senile so… I didn´t see the point.

Anyway at the end, the mystery wasn´t all that difficult to resolve but it was surprising to see how everything was connected and who were the people at fault. But more than that, it was also interesting to see what people are able to do for someone they love in order to protect them and that everything isn´t as black or white as some would have us believe or we would like to believe.

As for Nicolette, once again she turned out to be the kind of protagonist that I don´t like, completele useless, kind of unlikable, -at least Claire in Pretty Girls turned out to be capable in the end-  and worse of all was the mess she did of Tyler and her fiance.

I think I would have preferred it if the story had been told from Annaleise point of view or Laura´s -the wife of Nicolette´s brother-. So while I didn´t quite hate the book, I really didn´t like it.

So… have you read All the Missing Girls? Did you like it? have you ever read a book that everyone loves just to be disappointed?

One thought on “All the Missing Girls “1 Sentence Wednesday & Review”

Leave a Reply

