Posted in Early reading thoughts

Someday, Someday, Maybe “Snap Snap Thursday & Early Thoughts”

Early reading thoughts

 

sst

Snap, Snap Thursdays is a weekly meme originally hosted and created by Rebeca at “Books and Messy Buns”,that anyone can join.

Since her blog is going through some changes and I really like her weekly memes, I asked for permission to continue with them and here we are.

Anyhow, all you have to participate is:

  • Pick up the book you’re currently reading (or read last)
  • Take a picture of it
  • Make a post in your own blog where you share the photo and link back to my blog as the host
  • Share the link to your post in the comments’ section here for the book community to see:)

Note: Please refer the creator of the meme and the host (this blog/this post) in your own post and leave a comment down below with a link to your SST so all the participant can have a look and share their thoughts too!

My Picture:

wp-1473363437001.jpg

So… I´m a Gilmore Girls fan, therefore naturally I had heard about this book written by Lauren Graham, but for some reason or another, I never picked it up. ´til a couple of months ago when I heard about the Gilmore Girls Revival by Netflix that I decided it was time to start reading.

Now… thinking about it, I really don´t know what kind of expectations I had about this book, but so far it hasn´t been bad at all, I  mean: Do I consider it the best one I have read this year? Is it really funny and clever? Does it captivate you? Does it have great characters?

Well, the answers would be no, kind of, more or less, and sure. It´s certainly not the best book I have read, but it´s well written. The narration style is clear and easy to follow; I particularly like the pictures of Franny´s agenda ´cause it lets you see more of her personality and what really concerns her.

The dialogue is pretty smooth in my opinion and it´s might be my inner Gilmore Girls fan talking but I swear I can see some inspiration taken from the series -related to the dialogue and maybe some of the characters-, it´s also funny at times -but not all of the time-, and pretty relatable; ´cause I really feel it as something I or people I know would say.

As for the story and the characters itself, well… let´s just say I´m happy to be reading about a female protagonist that I like. ´cause without counting Fangirl , I don´t think I have liked any of the women that star on the books I have read this year, but Franny Banks is different.

It´s hard not to like her ´cause she´s pretty relatable and tends to try and see things with humor. She´s a person that wants to success, has a clear goal in her mind but is somehow unsure of how to get there. She wants to improve herself but at the same time knows who she is and isn´t sure about what she would have to change and if it would really make her more happy and successful.

And I think it´s there where we can all relate, ´cause we have all seen them, the innovative ones, the successful ones and we wonder how?, how do they do it?, what moves them?, is there  a secret?, how do I make myself someone like that?

It also helps that as an actress herself, Graham is able to portrait the struggles that and actor surely goes over in a way that feels real and lived. I don´t know how much of the scene set in this book is based on her life, but reading it I feel like somehow I´m seeing how it was for her or for any actor that has had to work hard in order to get where they are.

As for the other characters, well this is Franny´s story, so everything seems to be told from her point of view so in reality there´s no much to tell -especially since the other characters don´t appear that much-;  that being said I can actually imagine some actors playing the characters in the book and I do love Dan over James -Dan is totally my Luke here, so Franny chose him!-, so I think this story would work pretty well as a TV series, so let´s hope the TV deal that Lauren Graham has for it pans out.

But at the end, more than anything so far, I think this is a very positive book, that tells you to keep moving, to not give up, to work and be yourself while you hope that Someday, Someday, Maybe your dream, what you have been working for, will come true.

So… have you read Someday, Someday, Maybe. What are your thoughts? Are you as sure as I´m that Dan is Franny´s Luke? Would you like to see this as a TV series?

Leave a Reply

