Posted in Now

Agent´s of S.H.I.E.L.D. Season 4 Episode 1 “The Ghost”.- A Hell of a Premiere

Now

For reasons, I can´t quite discern right now. Last season I didn´t review Agent´s of S.H.I.E.L.D. as much as I would have liked, and I like the series!

Then again, after the Mid-season finale, the series kind of went downhill and lost a little steam due to the long hiatus, the Ward/Hive story arc and then there was the “Fallen Agent” thing -not a fan, they totally cheated!-, and well… I like this series and it still is one of my favorites but my friends and I have long discussed how AoS seems to do better at the Mid-season finales than the actual season finales.

agents-of-shield-season-4-posterAnyhow, while not exactly disappointing -again I liked last season and truly enjoy this series-, last season left us a little unsure about the future of this series, what with Agent Carter being cancel -I´m still in mourning- ABC deciding to pass once again on the Marvel´s Most Wanted series -not really surprised, nor sorry at all for that one- and then… AoS was moved to the 10 pm time slot.

There was some arguing on whether this change of schedule meant that ABC was setting the show to die or giving it a chance to be darker, grittier and edgier. And then, Ghost Rider was announced as part of season 4 and after having seen the premiere, I can say I really hope is the later, ´cause Agent´s of S.H.I.E.L.D. seems to have really stepped up its game!

What do I mean? Well…, from the beginning of the episode it´s clear that we´re dealing with a series that seems to be reinventing itself once again, since the first scene was way more violent and bloody than the 3 previous seasons combined -hardly close to Netflix or cable TV levels but still-, ´cause you know there was actual blood on the first scene and the unnecessary -at least in my opinion- underwear shot of Daisy getting ready to combat.

All of which points to Agent´s of S.H.I.E.L.D. going on a sexier, bloodier and less kid-friendly route -then again I have to admit that the show seemed to be going that way from a long time, right after the 1st season-

Anyways the show didn´t lose any time and pretty much introduce the Gabriel Luna´s Ghost rider in the first few minutes of the episode -something I applaud because it would have been in very bad taste and also a horrible decision to do so-, who´s basically responsible for making the show more violent only with his presence.aos401_2400

Now, I´m no and avid Ghost Rider reader, so basically, all I know comes from his appearances in other comics and the Nicholas Cage´s movies. Which means I´m even less familiar with the Robbie Reyes one -but I´m planning on correcting that-, so I can only safely say that the visual effects were way better than what I expected.

And while I´m still unsure on how his story will tie in with the overall season -I suspect the spirit that went out of the box has something to do with it-, I´m curious to see where this goes and takes us, so yeah, I´m in.

It also helps that his storyline seems like it would be linked or related to Daisy´s, who as we knew from the last season finale went rogue and is now officially known as Quake, an outlaw according to S.H.I.E.L.D.´s reports and more of a vigilante a la Robin Hood for what we spectators were able to see.

aos401_0782To me is understandable that after everything that happened Daisy would leave the agency and decided to go solo, after all, S.H.I.E.L.D. didn´t back her up that well and has shown more than ones that they consider the Inhumans -her people-, more as something to protect from that protect. So…, yeah if Daisy wants to do something for them, it has to be outside of S.H.I.E.L.D., but what I don´t quite get is this new suicidal thing.

I mean… yeah she´s sad because of Lincoln -don´t worry he´s doing wonders on Blindspot-, and might feel guilty for what happened with HIDE/Ward, but…I don´t know, to me, it looks like her psyche went down pretty quickly.

Anyhow, persecuting Daisy a.k.a Quake, there´s the buddy cop -agent?- duo of Mack and Coulson, whom I love for very different reasons:

I have always thought so, but if this premiere proved anything is that yes, Coulson works better as a company man than the boss. Him being an agent that has grown up and is reluctant to follow the protocol to a T like he used to, is way more fun -and would generate more conflicts I think-, than him being the Director of S.H.I.E.L.D., since being an agent gives him  the opportunity to be more open and interact more and better with the other characters.

aos401_0873As for Mack, he has pretty much been my favorite since last season -mostly because he seems to be the only centered one?-, and this season seems like he would continue to be. Is there no one he can´t get along with? ´cause I loved his and Daisy´s partnership and now I´m totally digging his and Coulson´s one, and… there´s also Yo-yo.

It was my hope from last season for Yo-yo to be a semi-regular character and make more appearances ´cause I simply love her and her and Mack´s chemistry it´s off the roof -Mack needs to throw the protocol through the window and get together with her asap-.

aos401_2514So I was pleasantly surprised to see her in the premiere, and that the episode set her up for more appearances, with the whole being Daisy´s intel and helping her on the side -something very in character for her, S.H.I.E.L.D. should really know better-.

The rest of the episode -and I mean the non-Ghost Rider related parts of the story-, was focused on presenting S.H.I.E.L.D.´s  new status quo, ´cause apparently one of Captain America: Civil War consequences was the re-instauration of S.H.I.E.L.D., thank´s to the Sokovia Accords -yeah I don´t really get how that happened but ok-.

Which not only makes Coulson stepping down from the Director position make some kind of sense -after all, he´s still legally dead-, but also works as an excuse to split the team. Since the only reason why said team, was formed was because May and Fury wanted to keep an eye on Coulson and later on because they were basically all that was left of S.H.I.E.L.D.

aos401_1782Therefore, it´s understandable that once the agency was put back together and recognized, they would have to return to their specific areas and stop working as a group. After all field agents work on the field, special operatives train and lead attack teams and scientist are well… in the lab, so yeah while sad this set up makes S.H.I.E.L.D. look more legit and feel like an actual agency instead of… whatever it was before.

But, what certainly is more interesting -or at least it´s to me-, is the fact that the new Director seems to want to do things “differently” but only appearance to be falling on the same old S.H.I.E.L.D. patterns, and there´s also the powers shifting with Simmons as the Director´s advisor; ´cause there´s no doubt in my mind that both of these things will sure cause more than one issue along the season.

So yes, as season premieres go, this was a pretty good one ´cause it makes the show feel fresher and new, but at the same time not totally unrecognizable. The characters have obviously grown up, but have somehow also returned to their beginnings, so if I had to describe this season as something, it would be like a series premiere done better, like season 1 2.0, and that´s not bad at all.

But… then again if there´s something that season 3 lacked, it wasn´t a strong premiere, but more like the ability to keep it up after the midseason finale so… here´s to hoping that season 4 does better.

Anyhow, this review has turned out to be way longer than I intended -I promise to do a shorter one next week-, but well there was a lot to be said, anyway what did you think about the season premiere? did you notice the change of tone? do you like it? and what do you think about this new AoS?


S.H.I.E.L.D.´s Classifies

  • So… magic! It surely has nothing to do with Doctor Strange coming up in November ¬¬
  • I know I already mentioned but the visual effects really surprised me, especially for a TV budget series, I really hope they didn´t blow it all up on the season premiere
  • May really didn´t seem happy with Simmons being a higher rank than her, and I can totally understand, after all, she has been a S.H.I.E.L.D. agent for a longer time, and just because there aren´t numbers now, it doesn´t mean there isn´t competition or inferiority complexes.
  • Interesting set back to Daisy´s powers, especially considering how powerful they made her see last season.
  • Seriously Fitz? have you never seen any sci-fi movie ever? And Ultron! Ultron happened not that long ago!
  • Yeahp, I can see the Fitzsimmons ship crashing all the way up from here 😦
  • Also, yes! the series is way better without so many cast regulars -are you paying attention Arrow?-, support characters are ok, but you should really maintain the story focused on your core characters -I mean Once Upon A Time manages it-
  • By the way was that another spirit of vengeance. I mean I´m not that familiar with Ghost Rider, but I do know about that part of the Mythos to suspect that the thing in the box was one of those.
  • MAY! No!, Not May! XO

 

 

 

One thought on “Agent´s of S.H.I.E.L.D. Season 4 Episode 1 “The Ghost”.- A Hell of a Premiere

Leave a Reply

