Posted in Now

Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. Season 4 Episode 2 “Meet the New Boss”.- Something Spooky here it Comes

Now

aos401_0198 I loved this episode! I loved so much that I can´t help but wonder why it took me so long to write about it?

But… in the end, I guess  there were so many things to comment on that it was kind of difficult to organize my thoughts -or make time for it-.

Anyway, with its  firey premiere -pun totally intended- Agent´s of S.H.I.E.L.D kind of set its own bar pretty high; ´cause that episode seemed to make a very good use of its new timeslot and take some giant steps into transforming the series on a more mature, grittier and edgier version of itself.

Now, reinventing a series isn´t easy to accomplish; therefore it´s not surprising at all that many  tuned in just to see if AoS would make it or stumbled; only to be surprised with the excellent episode delivered.

I for my part, wasn´t that surprised ´cause if there´s something AoS has done well since it´s 2nd season; it´s premieres and midseason finales -although to be honest, the midseason thing has been going since the 1st season-. Which is to say that AoS generally has excellent first half seasons -with the exception of the mentioned 1st one-

So.. in the end, the real challenge for this series is to keep things up  after the midseason finale and not to slow down significantly during the 22 episodes that it usually has. But I digress so let´s leave that aside for the moment and dig into episode 2: Meet The New Boss.

aos402_0199So where to begin…, the intro of the episode set it as some kind of ghost story with the “spirit” of the box we saw on the last episode appearing in a house and giving off a sort of  Supernatural -one of my favorite shows of all times-, which is always a good thing in my book.

But more than just being spooky, this “ghost” also had the purpose of moving the overall story along; something that was proved when they showed us that there are at leats 8 boxes. All of them containing the “spirits” of one scientist involved in some mysterious experiment involving a Darkhold -also known as The Book of Sins sometimes related to Doctor Strange– and the  Momentum Alternative Energy Labs.

aos402_2887How all of this is related to Robbie Reyes and his spirit of vengeance is yet to be seen, but at least it got us our first superhero team-up in AoS if you don´t count the Secret Warriors tease of last season and Deathlock -but back then Daisy wasn´t even Daisy so-

 

Speaking of which, it was fun to see Daisy using her powers and the training she got from S.H.I.E.L.D. to learn more about Robbie and get close to him, as well as some of her humor and sarcasm coming back, ´cause they have been missing pretty much since the 2nd season. It also helps that Gabriel Luna -Robbie- and Chloe Bennett -Daisy-, have great chemistry, making their banter that much funnier -just please, please don´t make them a couple-.

There was also the matter of the new director of S.H.I.E.L.D. who we didn´t see on the premiere but was quiet present. Meet the New Boss as its name implied, corrected this issue by presenting us Jason O´Mara´s Jeffrey Mace. who turned out to be not what I imagined, but I should have probably expected.

It would have been easy to give us a director you can not trust and don´t like. Which is why I have to give props to AoS writers for going in a different direction and trying to make Jeffry likable. aos402_0986

Therefore while I sympathize with May and her notion that it should be Coulson up there; I can not help but think that Coulson himself it´s right and Jeffrey might be the director that S.H.I.E.L.D needs; ´cause while I´m not precisely happy with the way he managed the May situation -more on that in a moment-, I do agree with him on Coulson not being impartial when it´s about her and Daisy.

Which brings us to May. We knew from the previous episode that May was affected by the “ghost” in the box, but what I also didn´t expect was for her to devolve so quickly. Min Na Wen did a great portraying this new facet of May´s character; something the character seriously needed since it´s one of the few ones that haven´t change that much -at least not at a single glace-; so… let´s see how long this lasts and if there will be any lasting effects -fingers crossed-.

aos402_2770And finally… Oh yeah! Turns out the new director of S.H.I.E.L.D. is inhuman! I definitely didn´t see that coming, since I´m pretty sure the Patriot of the comics wasn´t Inhuman nor superpowered, so this is an interesting development and something I wish to see how it progress. And there was also the Mack-Fitz-Daisy confrontation.

The whole “We´ve all been through terrible things, and we´ve never turned our backs”, hit exactly where it had to. Trust Fitz to bring the emotional punches and personal drama into the series without feeling forced or cheap.

So, Meet the New Boss. What did you think about this episode? Did it meet your expectations? Did you like it?

I for my part think it was and excellent episode, filled with action, emotional and exciting enough to keep me at the edge of my seat. If the premiere was great, this episode here was awesome and I can only hope the series continues on this path and expands the momentum.


S.H.I.E.L.D.´s Classifies

  • So… the watchdogs storyline is going to continue. Hope it´s better than last season´s ¬¬
  • How awesome was that action scene with Daisy and Robbie! Although… getting on the hood really wasn´t a good idea at all XD
  • Are we changing Ghost Riders origins? ´Cause he was able to kill the ghosts so… I assume Ghost Rider has something to do with them.
  • On that note, is it possible that the “Ghost” and Darkhold are related to Agent Carter´s Whitney Frost and the Dark Matter instead of Magic?
  • S.H.I.E.L.D. under a budget and pursuing good Public Relationships could be a good thing and it´s more than understandable after the whole S.H.I.E.L.D. is HYDRA fiasco, so… while not happy about it I can undersatnd Jeffrey´s posture on wanting to bring Daisy/Quake in.
  • Speaking of Jeffrey please, please, please let him be good. I´m actually liking him.
  • Loved Simons´ face when Mack mentioned that it could just be a ghost XD
  • Is my Mack/Yo-yo ship about to sink before sailing? :´(

 

 

 

One thought on “Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. Season 4 Episode 2 “Meet the New Boss”.- Something Spooky here it Comes

Leave a Reply

