Posted in Now

Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. Season 4 Episode 3 “Uprising”.- Into the Shadows

Now

Remember how I praised last week´s episode of Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.? Well… this weeks episode wasn´t that good, I mean it wasn´t bad, not at all but; compared to the LORENZO JAMES HENRIEprevious two. Let´s just say it kind of slowed down -just like I feared-.

And I guess I should have expected it -and I kind of did?- ´cause there are more or less 22 episodes on a traditional TV series, and there are just some many revelations and bombs, the show can throw around before burning through all of its storylines so… I guess it´s OK.

And that was in great part thanks to this episode being heavy in Yo-yo, who is turning out to be by far my favorite addition to AoS. Don´t get me wrong! I´m totally on board with Robbie Reyes aka Ghost Rider, but… Yo-yo! Yo-yo is amazing! Fresh and entertaining to watch. She also feels -at least to me- as a real part of the series and not just a guest or especial appearance so… yeah I love whenever I see her on my screen.

Anyway… on to Uprising, the 3rd episode that had to be put off ´til this week for… the vice presidential debate?

So… as we pretty much knew from the promos, there were a series of blackouts generated all over the country… world? -I think I remember they saying it was a global threat- and the responsible people claimed to be Inhumans so… yeah, there was an issue right there.

agents-of-shield-4x03-810x400Therefore Coulson and his team -that for reasons I can´t quite discern consisted only of him, Fitz and Mack- were pretty much ordered by the director to take a look at this attacks and bring the people responsible in, be it human or inhuman, ´cause apparently everyone pretty much believe that the Inhumans were indeed responsible.

Which brings me to the issue of the Inhumans pretty much taking the place of the mutants in the Marvel Cinematic Universe. Something we all suspected or knew, but was never really quite as obvious or right out pointed out as in this episode.

Anyway… Coulson, Mack and Fitz soon discovered that Miami was where the blackouts were being originated so… they made their way over there, with all the technological toys they needed to accomplish their task, even though the place was a technology black hole due to the EMP they were planning to disassemble -yeah…, I don´t get that logic at all either- .

hqdefaultAs for Yo-yo, she just happened to be in Miami when the blackout happened because of a… bachelorette´s party or something of the sorts.

So I have pretty much stated this several times but I love Yo-yo, so I was more than happy to see her back and learn a little more about her. But what was actually interesting about her issue was that when some “human extremists” came into the terrace, it was to take the Inhuman they knew was there, and that it seems was in part thanks to the Sokovia Accords.

This pulled my attention particularly, because as far as I knew, the Sokovia Accords were only about accounting the Avengers responsible for their acts and not about registering people with superpowers or their identities, like in the comics with the Super Human Registration Act.

I mean, it´s possible that the Accords seen in the movies covered more than just the Avengers issue -after all legislations usually have more than one law or sections-, but there are already rumors about S.H.I.E.L.D. being put back together for the movies, so… this to me talks about and even bigger discordance between the movies Universe and the TV shows, which they initially sold us as connected.

Anyhow, going back to the episode. Thanks to Mack, Coulson, and Fitz; Yo-yo was saved from these extremists and was able to stop the real people behind the blackouts -a faction of the Watchdogs, no surprises there- after Fitz managed to find them with some good old math.

And then…, we finally found out who was behind the Watchdogs financing!, a Senator: Rota Nadeer, who seems to have a personal vendetta against the Inhumans. Something I betbis related to the fact that her brother is stuck in an Inhuman cocoon.

So now we have not only the Ghost Rider spirits and AIDA life model decoy stories, but also this one, so… anyone´s guess which will be the big threat by the end of the year?

simmons403And that was pretty much, I mean yes there was the whole saving May thing and the premature end of Daisy´s team up with the Ghost Rider; but honestly speaking those part of the story didn´t feel that important and felt -at least to me- as an afterthought, so… there.

The only thing I can say about it is that there better be some kind of consequence to May´s ghost exposure ´cause otherwise; what was even the point of doing that?

In the end, while not in the caliber of the 2 previous episodes,  Uprising was a good one. Entertaining and interesting, but even if it appeared like a lot was happening, there wasn´t really. Something I guess I can let slide due to the introduction of another big bad.

So.. what did you think about Uprising? Did you like it? Who do you think will be the big threat in the end? Any theories about the cocoon?


S.H.I.E.L.D.´s Declassifies

  • Glad to see AoS can still be funny without being forced. The Coulson situation with his robot hand was humorous 😀
  • I´m still like Jeffrey so please, please don´t let him be evil.
  • Mack and Yo-yo, yeahp, outside of FitzSimons they are my OTP! I´m telling you guys XD That being said I´m loving this whole will they won´t they thing they have going and Yo-yo making it clear she is done with that ambiguity thing.
  • So… It was just that easy to save May? ¬¬ As I said, they better follow up with some consequences or something.
  • Fitz is the boss! XD
  • What´s up with AIDA, are we going the Jocasta route ala Age of Ultron or not?
  • This Daisy thing being hurt every time she uses her powers has the potential of getting old pretty quickly -it´s kind of getting there already-; especially when we haven´t seen any other Inhumans with these issues when using their powers. So can we just have badass powerful Daisy back please? Where did this even come from?
  • The Daisy-Ghost Rider team up is off?ñ, just like that? -_-
  • Did I already mention that I loved the opening scene with the transmission cutting the S.H.I.E.L.D. logo
  • S.H.I.E.L.D. is back as a recognized government agency, so I guess public relationship and image is going to be even more important now -wonder if the movies are going to also ignore this-

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

