Posted in Loved it/Hated it

#radomFridays.-Ms. Peregrine´s Home for Peculiar Children “Review”

Loved it-hated it

rfRandom Fridays is a weekly meme originally hosted and created by Rebeca at “Books and Messy Buns”,that anyone can join.

Since her blog is going through some changes and I really like her weekly memes, I asked for her permission to continue with them and here we are.

Anyhow to participate you just have to do the following:

  • Pick up the book you’re currently reading (or read last)
  • Go to this random number generator and insert the total amount of pages in your book.
  • Generate a random number.
  • Open your book in the page with number you got
  • Repeat step 2 and 3 but with the number of lines in that page.
  • Your random sentence is the first sentence in the line with the number you got (it doesn’t matter if the sentence starts a few lines before)

Note: Please refer the creator of the meme and the host (this blog/this post) in your own post and leave a comment down below with a link to your RF so all the participant can have a look and share their thoughts too!

My Random Sentence:

Was this what my grandfather had meant for me to find? Yes , I thought, it has to be —not the letters of Emerson, but a letter, tucked inside Emerson’s book.

The quote above belongs to what I consider the first half of Miss Peregrine´s Home for Peculiar Children, a book that I read in less than a week due to a challenge I made with one of my friends.

The goal was to finish the book before the theatrical release of the movie, which in my country was on September 29th -I won by the way-, so I read the book and while I wasn´t precisely a fan of some things, I have to say that I generally liked it and I´m hoping to read the 2nd and 3rd books as soon as I can.

9460487Anyway… what I liked about this book was particularly Ransom Riggs´narration style, ´cause while the story moves along a little slow, the writing captivated me enough to make me want to keep reading. There´s something about the way Riggs goes about it, that just pulls you in and makes you feel like you are inside the story without the use of too detailed descriptions.

It also helps that while it does take some time to finally get to Miss Peregrine´s home, the trip there is compelling thank´s to the exploration of Jacob´s character, his relationship with his father -the goodbye scene basically broke my heart- and most of all his father´s relationship with his father -grandpa Abe-.

I liked seeing how these relationships or the lack of them can affect a person´s development in what appears to be unseen ways and how the perspective we have of our parents gets influenced by how young we are and the things we still don´t understand back them, only to remain a reference point even in later years.

And Jacob also turned out to be a quite likable character, or at least to me; ´cause even if I don´t really like the Emma/Jacob relationship -I´m sorry it just seems wrong to me-, all of his actions actually make sense -unlike the ones in a certain movie, but I digress-, and seem like something I can believe a teenager doing.

As for Miss Peregrine herself and the children, well… I don´t trust her. I don´t know why but I just don´t, she´s very controlling and seems fishy like she´s hiding something. If Abe felt as much as a prisoner as I think he did and used to boot; I can totally get why he left. I mean maybe my opinion of her, will change in the following books, but right know…

Finally, there´s also the children, really mess up children, who I found fascinating because they are like Peter Pan´s lost children gone wrong or right -depends on how you would like to see it-. They are kids but at the same time aren´t and the fact that they bodies haven´t grown and time hasn´t gone anywhere physically -just mentally- seems to have really messed the up. Which is too be expected but somehow I never thought about before.

The kids are in fact part o the reason why I want to read the other books, ´cause I wish to see what happens to them and how being out of the time loops affects them.

Anyway…, I really liked this book. Can´t say is one of my favorites but it´s a good one so… if you are looking for an interesting read, that´s both not too convoluted but deep enough. If you like fantasy and some weird things. Miss Peregrine´s Home for Peculiar Children might just be what you´re looking for.

 

One thought on “#radomFridays.-Ms. Peregrine´s Home for Peculiar Children “Review”

Leave a Reply

