Posted in Loved it/Hated it

#highlightedMondays.- Topher Nightshade vs The Camp of The Undead Apocalypse “Review”

Loved it-hated it

hm

 

Highlighted Mondays is a weekly meme originally hosted and created by Rebeca at “Books and Messy Buns”,that anyone can join.

Since her blog is going through some changes and I really like her weekly memes, I asked for her permission to continue with them and… here we are!

All you have to do to participate is:

  • Pick up the book you’re currently reading (be it a physical or electronic copy)
  • Find a sentence you like (because it’s funny or cute or mysterious or whatever you find interesting)
  • Highlight the sentence
  • Make a post in your own blog where you share your highlighted sentence and link back to my blog as the host.
  • Share the link to your post in the comments’ section here for the book community to see:)

Note: Please refer the creator and of the meme the host (this blog/this post) in your own post and leave a comment down below with a link to your RF so all the participant can have a look and share their thoughts too!

My Highlighted Sentence:

wp-1478549499786.jpeg

-Topher Nightshade vs The Camp of The Undead Apocalypse by Drew Hayes

Having read both The Utterly Uninteresting and Unadventurous Tales of Fred The Vampire Accountant -its sequel- and this book, I can not help but think that Drew Hayes has a thing for long titles, ´cause these are long ones; then again it prevents me from confusing them with any other book so… maybe that´s the point?

Anyhow, as some of you might know, I became a Drew Hayes fan thanks to his Fred -for shorts- series and when the time came to pick my October-November reads I decided to go with another of his stories and although every cell in my body is urging me to read Bloody Acquisitions -the third instalment in the Fred series-, I decided to read something else from this author and because of Halloween Topher was it.

So… the phrase above doesn´t quite summarize what the book is about but I think it does outlines who Auggie is and since he was my absolute favorite character, I had to choose something said by him.

23477472And it´s funny because I don´t think I particularly relate to Auggie -except maybe for his ideas of a fun weekend and lack of overly social life-, but somehow he managed to be the one that I liked the most. His no non-sense attitude and satisfaction with who he is and what he does, were quite admirable and refreshing; along with his friendship with Topher and his morals and hilarious rants.

I mean I also liked Topher, who could have easily been the typical jock but wasn´t anything like that. In fact, I think one of the reasons why I enjoyed those two so much is because their bromance -if nothing else- reminded me of Teen Wolf´s Scott and Stiles.

Anyway, back to the book itself; it was fun and entertaining, with a story both easy to follow and interesting.

It follows Topher, Auggie, and Kay; the team behind Specter Quest a youtube channel with millions of followers that investigates paranormal phenomenons -basically ghosts sightings-;  and their last minute explorations of camp Tekonichia, an abandoned haunted summer camp in New Mexico.

Needless to say that what they thought would be a normal shoot, turns out to be more than they could have imagined, when they meet Velt, one of them becomes part of the paranormal world, and they discover there´s an evil spirit hell bent on bringing the apocalypse.

So yeah, reading this story was pretty much like watching a movie or an episode of Supernatural with the Ghostfacers. And confirmed once again that I do like Drew Hayes´ books.

But… while I liked the story and like his characters -at least the male ones-, there´s something to be said about Drew´s females characters.

Drew Hayes male characters are awesome, maybe because he is a man himself. They are all different and hardly stereotypic, but the female ones…, again it might be because he is a man but all of the women -Chrystal, Velt, Kay, etc.- I have read about so far, seem to be a variation of the same kind of woman badass, tough, heavy drinker and foul-mouthed.

I mean I can´t say for sure if this is the case in all of his stories -since I have only read 3, well 4 if you count the Velt bonus story included in this one-, but Hayes seems to have fallen in the same hole every man trying to write cool women do; and that´s exaggerating what they think of as cool characteristics in order to make them seem better?

So…, yeah I think that´s an issue; because while I can somehow relate and love all of the male characters -from Fred to Richard, Gideon, Topher, Auggie, Al, etc.-; I can’t say the same of the female ones.

Anyway, I might discover this is not the case after reading more of Drew Hayes works, and my opinion may change but as for now…; let´s just leave at this being a fun and entertaining book, easy to read and good to pick up if you want to have a good time.

I definitely liked it!

One thought on “#highlightedMondays.- Topher Nightshade vs The Camp of The Undead Apocalypse “Review”

Leave a Reply

