Posted in Early reading thoughts

#1sentenceWednesdays.- Seriously Wicked “Early Thoughts”

Early reading thoughts

 

1sw-v2

One Sentence Wednesdays is a weekly meme originally hosted and created by Rebeca at “Books and Messy Buns”,that anyone can join.

Since her blog is going through some changes and I really like her weekly memes, I asked for her permission to continue with them and here we are.

To participate all you have to do is:

Pick up the book you’re currently reading -or read last-, think about what it made you feel -is making you feel-. Describe it in one sentence, make a post in your own blog sharing your sentence and link back to my blog as the host. Finally, share the link to your post in the comments section here for the book community to see:)

Note: Please refer the creator of the meme and the host (this blog/this post) in your own post and leave a comment down below with a link to your 1SW so all the participant can have a look and share their thoughts too!

My Sentence is:

Surprisingly charming, but… not my kind of spell.

-about Seriously Wicked by Tina Connolly

 

So… Seriously Wicked is the third read of my late October-November read list. And while it´s the shortest book on the list, ironically it´s also the one that it´s taking me the longest time to finish!

The book is funny and entertaining but still, I haven´t manage to finish it for some strange reason. One could say that maybe it’s because I don´t have a lot of time, but… I managed to finish Topher Nightshade vs The Camp of The Undead Apocalypse in a week with a worse schedule, so… I don´t think that´s it.

Which is why, if I had to guess maybe the problem is that I haven´t manage to relate to any of the characters -not that there are many since Camiellia is basically it-, and there also seems to be -at least in my opinion- a problem with over exposition.

23168806I mean the idea that witches took to the Internet before anyone else, it´s kind of funny and cool. But them having like their own secret Internet world seems a little too far fetched and overly complicated.

And while I like Camellia as character, I ´d really liked it more if there were more characters with dialogues and an active involvement in the story; but then again Camellia is the protagonist, kind of a loner -by need- and everything is told from her perspective, so… maybe I should cut it some slack.

In the end, I think that maybe it´s time for  me to stray a little from the Young Adults genre, since I have been having some problems with it lately; I mean I loved To All the Boys I Loved Before by Jenny Han, but I have had problems trying to read my way through anything else like for example the Throne of Glass series -and I battled a lot to get those books-.

Or maybe I´m just passing through a dry spell with the genre and should retake it after some time.

Anyway, so far the book as I mentioned before, has been fun if a little slow paced, but since the demon has just appeared things might change soon enough along with my opinion of the book but for now…, let´s just say it´s not my cup of tea.

So… Have you read Seriously Wicked? Does it get better -´cause I know it´s a series-? How about Throne of Glass? Have you ever had to leave a genre you previously loved for a while due to… I don´t know getting tired of it? Did you return to it?

Leave a Reply

