Posted in Loved it/Hated it

#SnapSnapThursdays.-Harry Potter and the Cursed Child “Review”

Loved it-hated it

sst

 

Snap, Snap Thursdays is a weekly meme originally hosted and created by Rebeca at “Books and Messy Buns”,that anyone can join.

Since her blog is going through some changes and I really like her weekly memes, I asked for permission to continue with them and here we are.

Anyhow, all you have to participate is:

  • Pick up the book you’re currently reading (or read last)
  • Take a picture of it
  • Make a post in your own blog where you share the photo and link back to my blog as the host
  • Share the link to your post in the comments’ section here for the book community to see:)

Note: Please refer the creator of the meme and the host (this blog/this post) in your own post and leave a comment down below with a link to your SST so all the participant can have a look and share their thoughts too!

My Picture:

img_20161201_162243.jpg

I met my deadline! Read the 5 books I intended!, and that is in great part because this has to be one of the quickest reads of my life. I finished this book in about 2 hrs or so, and that is saying something, even for me.

Anyhow, I also think though I have mentioned this before, that it probably begs repeating: I´m not a big Harry Potter fan. Sure, I read all of the books and saw the 8 movies -like almost everyone in my generation- but… I have never considered myself what you would call a Potterhead. That being said, I have enjoyed Harry Potter so… when Harry Potter and the Cursed Child was announced, I was curious.

And my curiosity only grew, when the reviews started coming -as well as Youtube videos and online comments- and… it seemed like almost everyone hated it. So… ultimately that´s what made me read this book more than anything else, and you know what? I actually liked it!

Yes, that´s right. I really liked this book. It was funny when needed, entertaining and kind of emotional. Is it a little too fan-servicing? Totally! Was it needed? Maybe not. Is it as well written as the original Harry Potter stories? No. Is it super deep and meaningful? Not really, but it´s not meant to be! And, I had fun reading it!

It also helps that I absolutely fell in love with Scorpius Hyperion Malfoy and Albus Severus Potter, as well as their friendship, and I liked seeing a little of Harry´s and his friend´s life through this play.

I mean, I don´t know how much J.K. Rowling was involved in this word -if at all-, but seeing what the golden trio grew out to become, was fun and interesting, ´cause it made sense -or at least it made for Harry and Hermione-, and it was also good to see how having lived through everything that they have, has impacted their lives and the ones of those around them.

That being said, I most recognize that the book does have its flaws and there are things that seem to have happened just because or because the plot required it; but outside of that it was good so…, I can´t really seem to understand why everyone has such a problem with it.

Is it because Harry is not actually the main character? ´Cause it is more of a relationship and character driven story than an adventure one? the format?

´Cause these are all things I actually liked. I mean I have read plays before -The Phantom of The Opera, Rome & Juliette-, but this is the first time I have actually liked one -it was such a quick read!-. And since I liked the characters -Scorpius and Albus-, it was cool -at least for me- to read about their friendship, the difficult relationship they have with their respective parents and their peers for what they are perceived as.

I felt for Scorpius -who turned out to be kind of my favorite- and all the rumors and prejudge he has to go against, and I also felt for Albus and his inability to live up to expectations or relate to his own family. And I also love that those two found each other as friends.

So all in all, I truly enjoyed this book and I wouldn´t mind more stories about Albus and Scorpius -as long as both of them remain the main characters-, so yeah, I´m glad I read it. But if you´re a big Harry Potter fan and are thinking about this book as the 8th one of the series… maybe, just maybe this book is not for you.

As for me, I loved it!

 

Leave a Reply

