Posted in Calling my name

Christmas Books Caroling My Name!

Calling my name

Christmas is here! Well, sort of…., I mean is December and Christmas is coming so since last month I made a list of all the books I wanted to read before November ended -which I did! by the way-, and I had previously pretty much abandoned this section of my blog, I decided to do it again.

The only difference is that this time instead of reading monster´s and ghost´s stories, I decided to go for Christmas and winter stories because… Christmas?

1-1

I mean, I don´t really like Christmas that much, but I also don´t hate the celebration. So, let´s just say it´s not that big of a deal for me, and that probably has something to do with my family life, but that´s something for another post.

Anyway, this Christmas I´m trying to be more positive and give it a try, so… I´m actually participating in some traditions -some of which are from my country, other´s American, and a mix of both- and reading Christmas books! Hence my list:

The Adventure of the Christmas Pudding

1115356

As everyone who reads this blog probably knows, I love mysteries! Or at least mystery novels and books. In fact, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle´s Red-Headed League was pretty much the first novel I read and what made me -at the tender age of 6- a big Sherlock Holmes fan.

Even nowadays the Sherlock Holmes stories are still my favorites ones, but Agatha Christie´s Hercules Poirot novels are a close second.

So… yeah, I´ll probably have at least one mystery novel in my picks each month, and while I´m not sure if the 6 tales included in The Adventures of the Christmas Pudding are set in Christmas, at least the first one must be, right?, so yeah… this book is it.

 

The Night Before Christmas

17561452

“All Lydia’s ever wanted is a perfect Christmas…

So when her oldest friends invite her to spend the holidays with them, it seems like a dream come true. She’s been promised log fires, roasted chestnuts, her own weight in mince pies – all in a setting that looks like something out of a Christmas card.

But her winter wonderland is ruined when she finds herself snowed in with her current boyfriend, her old flame, and a hunky stranger. Well, three (wise) men are traditional at this time of year…”

Sometimes I just one to read something sweet, fun and romantic without that much  drama, so.. while the summary of this book leaves a lot to wish for -see what I did there-, I decided to give it a try, besides something tells me that the closer Christmas comes, the more I´ll need a book like this one to lift my spirit.

 

La Navidad en las Montañas

30723690

So, last month I promised myself that I´d read more books in my language -or at last one per month-, therefore… here we are.

About Navidad en las Montañas I only know that it was written by Ignacio Manuel Altamirano, who is one of the most important men of the XIX century and the Mexican literature.

Besides being a writer -something that he wished-, Altamirano was also a journalist, military man, and was actively involved in politics. For him, words were actual weapons and it´s also said that his ideas about a more nationalistic Mexico, can be noticed in his works, particularly this novel, El Zarco and Clementina .

So… I´m really looking forward to reading this book.

And that´s it, those are my picks for December-Christmas reads, only 3 books this time. I actually considered reading one more, but something tells me that I might be too busy and I´m rereading Anne Rice´s Vampire Chronicles once again -I got excited with the news of the rights going back to Anne-, but that´s a post for another time.

Anyway… What are you reading this month? Anything Christmasty?

 

Leave a Reply

