Posted in Early reading thoughts

#radomFridays.- The Adventures of the Christmas Pudding “Early Thoughts”

Early reading thoughts

rf

 

Random Fridays is a weekly meme originally hosted and created by Rebeca at “Books and Messy Buns”, that anyone can join.

Since her blog has gone through some changes and I really liked her weekly memes, I asked for her permission to continue with them and here we are.

Anyhow to participate you just have to do the following:

  • Pick up the book you’re currently reading (or read last)
  • Go to this random number generator and insert the total amount of pages in your book.
  • Generate a random number.
  • Open your book in the page with number you got
  • Repeat step 2 and 3 but with the number of lines in that page.
  • Your random sentence is the first sentence in the line with the number you got (it doesn’t matter if the sentence starts a few lines before)

Note: Please refer the creator of the meme and the host (this blog/this post) in your own post and leave a comment down below with a link to your RF so all the participant can have a look and share their thoughts too!

My Random Sentence:

Perhaps something in the shaking hands, the trembling shrillness of the voice, warned him that the denial was too vehement, that its very insistence was itself a suspect.

I think I lucked out this time with the sentence, ´cause this one pretty much sums Hercules Poirot and Miss. Marple as detectives, or at least it does in my opinion.

This trait, the observant one, is why I love so much Agatha CChristie´s  novels, ´cause both Poirot and Ms. Marple are observant people that study human nature in order to accomplish their investigation goals.and it´s something that I have always liked in the detective stories that I read; which is why

Observation is also a characteristic that I lack, so… maybe that´s why I find it so fascinating and something that I have always liked in the detective stories that I have read.

1115356Anyhow, onto the book, I chose The Adventures of the Christmas Pudding as my first Christmas read more than anything as an excuse to read some mystery stories while also fulfilling my intent of being more into the “Christmas spirit”, and so far… I´m liking! A lot!

I mean I have read Agatha Christie´s novels in the past –Murder on the Orient Express being the first one I read- and enjoyed them, but these ones, these ones besides the mystery are plenty of fun.

The mysteries are quite clever and no all what they seem -which every good mystery has to be-, and at least the first story -the one of the Christmas pudding- did a great job of making me feel all Christmassy so… mission accomplished!

 Right now, I´m on the last story, which has Ms. Jane Marple as the protagonist, and I´m loving the character!

Like I said, in the past I have read some Agatha Christie´s stories, but this is the first time I have read about Ms. Marple, and the only regret I have is not having read any of the novels with her as a protagonist before -something I intend to correct as soon as possible, I saw there´s also a christmas story with her, so… I might include that one next year- .

Anyway…, the bottom line is that I totally recomend this book, you can read it whener you fancy a light and captivating read, but since it includes the Christmas Pudding, I do think it´s better to do so in December.

But, wwhat are your thoughts? Have you read The Adventure of the Chrismas Pudding or any other story by Agatha Christie? What are your thoughts? What about Ms. Marple? Any stories you´d recommend?

Leave a Reply

