Posted in Off the shelf

Star Trek.- To Go Boldly

Off the shelf

The way things are going, I should probably consider making this a books/movies/TVseries blog with things from my life and thoughts that are thrown randomly than a books/movies/anime/comics/TVseries one with random things. ´cause it´s been a long time since I last wrote about comics.

But there are only so many hours in the day and besides work -freelance and official-, I do have other responsibilities; and I quite honestly I´m a little lazy with my writing so…. there´s also that.

st_boldlygo01-coverAnyway…, from some reason right when my countdown to Rogue One´s premiere began -I´m planning to post my thoughts on that movie, hopefully before the year ends- I decided to catch up on my Star Trek comics!

How Star Wars took me to Star Trek is anyone´s guess, but the thing is that I returned to the Star Trek comics I was reading, only to discover that the main title was finished.

And not only that! It also turned out there is new comic undergoing -which also made me realize how out of the rest of the comic book world I have been since Rebirth-, so…. in the end I had a lot more catching up than I expected.

Anyway, as some of you might know -if you have read some of my other posts-, I´m one of those people that got into Star Trek thanks to the movies directed by J.J. Abrahams. I mean I saw some episodes of the original series when I was little -thanks to reruns- and like a season from Voyager?, but what really made me a fan were the movies.

And because I like comics, the first thing I did after watching the first movie -which I didn´t actually saw in theaters-, was look and see if there were any comics. And, oh boy! There were plenty of comics.

But in the end; since the movies were what got me in, I started reading the 2011´s run written by Mike Jhonson.

stongoing1a

This comic took place after the first movie, and continue all the way after the second one, and it´s conclusion as far as timelines in this universe goes, seems to take place somewhere before the end of the latest movie or maybe it´s after? -it´s kind of confusing-

Anyhow, the point is that I liked this series, or at least most of it. ´Cause while I loved some stories; particularly those that dug into the past of characters like Bones, Sulu, Checkov, Uhura, etc. -one of my favorite ones is the one of Lt. Hendorff talking to his parents about being a “red shirt”-. But other stories… well, let´s just say they weren´t quite that entertaining.

Which is why somewhere along the line I stopped reading it religiously and started to pick it randomly between months in order to catch up.

That being said, in the last titles, Jhonson did a great job saying goodbye to Spock Prime -something sort of touched upon by the movie Star Trek Beyond due to the death of the actor Leonard Nimoy-, establishing both his legacy and importance, as well as putting the crew of this new timeline as the legacy of the one in the original series -with issues that went full on meta-.

So…, the main title ended on a pretty good note, kind of making me sad that it´s finished, and now… now there´s Star Trek Boldly Go.

The story here takes place somewhere in between the Enterprise crew stopping Krall and his followers, and the new Enterprise being assembled again -a process that took 6 months? or maybe more-; and instead of following the crew on its exploration mission, for obvious reasons it shows us what they were doing during that time:

We have Spock taking a sabbatical with Nyota in New Vulcan.

star_trek_boldly_go_issue1_johnson_shasteen_idw_02-628x992
Surprisingly well accepted -considering all the discrimination Spock seemed to have suffered-

 

Scotty teaching in the Academy

44_08.jpg
With some special appearances of the characters from the comic Starfleet Academy

Sulu serving as a First Officer in another ship

44_09

Kirk as the intern captain of another ship

star-trek-boldly-go-4
I loved the part where all the crew members of the Endeavour were speculating about Kirk -after all he´s almost a legend by this point, or on his way to becoming one-. “I heard he´s got augment blood. He´s basically immortal” -still waiting to see something on this!-

And Bones as always being the loyal friend that he is, following Jim.

previewpage3-101716
Even if it means having to take on a lower position and being under the command of someone older but probably not that better than him  -Checkov is also there-.

Anyhow, the story started well, with some characters a little more put out due to their new positions -namely Sulu and McCoy-, and I loved watching Kirk interacting with a new crew -I especially liked the Romulan first officer, Commander Valas-.

Unfortunately or fortunately -it´s still too early to know- the separation didn´t last long, since an emergency call from the “Concord” -yes, the same starship Sulu was in- had most of the Enterprise bridge crew back together, this time to face an enemy the likes they have never faced before.

stborg

Yes, the Borg have arrived in the Narada!universe and like a century before they should -which seems to be the norm in it-.If there´s a 4th movie -which rumors I hope are true say there will be- and with Anton Yelchin´s tragic passing, this title could be

 

Now, the only thing I know about the Borg comes from videos I saw online about Captain Picard and his experience as one of them, so… I find fascinating how technological advance they seem -even considering things in this universe seem already super advanced- and their form to integrate people into their herd.

Anyway… Star Trek Boldly Go already appears to be going on a darker and more intense path than the 2011 run, I mean not as hardcore as Manifest Destiny -which I loved and I´m hoping to write about soon-, so… let´s see where it goes.

Anyway, are you a fan of the Star Trek comics? What are your thoughts on Boldy Go so far? and what would you like to see happen in this first arc?


Reader´s Log

  • I didn´t mention it, but along McCoy, Checkove also boarded the “Endeavour” following Kirk, so… I wonder if they will use this arc or comic to deal with Anton´s tragic dead.
  • I love how Uhura and Spock just left their “vacations” willingly because Kirk needed them, I mean I still havenpt seen much of that legendary friendship between Kirk and Spock that is so spoken of, so… I hope we can see some of it here.
  • Zarah made it! ❤ She´s one of my favorite characters -along Kai, Galia´s brother- introduced in the comics but so far not seen in the movies, so I´m glad to at least have this awesome security officer back in the new comic.
  • So… will Spock be the new Locutus?
Leave a Reply

