Posted in Early reading thoughts

#highlightedMondays.- The Night Before Christmas “Early Thoughts”

Early reading thoughts

hm

 

Highlighted Mondays is a weekly meme originally hosted and created by Rebeca at “Books and Messy Buns”, that anyone can join.

Since her blog is going through some changes and I really like her weekly memes, I asked for her permission to continue with them and… here we are!

All you have to do to participate is:

  • Pick up the book you’re currently reading (be it a physical or electronic copy)
  • Find a sentence you like (because it’s funny or cute or mysterious or whatever you find interesting)
  • Highlight the sentence
  • Make a post in your own blog where you share your highlighted sentence and link back to my blog as the host.
  • Share the link to your post in the comments’ section here for the book community to see:)

Note: Please refer the creator and of the meme the host (this blog/this post) in your own post and leave a comment down below with a link to your RF so all the participant can have a look and share their thoughts too!

My Highlighted Sentence:

img_20161226_174928_057.jpg

Second in my Christmas read list and I´m already running behind, but to be honest I was kind of expecting it, so I hope I can finish it before Wednesday so I can finish my  3 books on time.

Anyway I chose this sentences because so far, its the one that I have found the funniest and also I think it´s something every woman has thought at some point or at least the majority of us, especially with so many attractive men turning out to be gay and then straight men that take so much care of their hair, skin, etc., that sometimes we can not help but wonder if they are really straight.

Not that it´s bad, quite the contrary bu still, but still you have to recognize that every day it´s turning out to be more and more difficult to pinpoint who you can hit on -not that I´m an expert since I don´t flirt, or at least I don´t think I do-. Anyway… onto the book.

17561452Right from the start, it seemed clear to me that Scarlet Bailey loves Christmas, like really, really loves it and I mean the romanticize version of it with the snow, tree, decorations, etc. And that´s ok I guess since it paints a pretty good picture of where the story is developing but… If you´re not overly fond on Christmas, you might want to skip this one.

Anyhow, I for my part am not a big fan of Christmas but I don´t hate it so… I´m ok with it. ´cause so far even though the story is set on Christmas, is not about it, or at least that´s the impression I have got.

You see, so far I have got the impression that it´s more about Lydia and her relationship issues, which apparently come from her home life. She´s the daughter of divorcees and his father has remarried one time too many. So…, it’s no wonder she has trouble finding love, ´cause she does want to find love, is just that she´s also scared and I can totally understand.

I mean, I never thought I could relate to someone like Lydia, ´cause quite honestly she seems to be everything I´m not -feminine, fashionable, etc.-, but in this aspect and the family thing, she and I are quite similar, I mean I love my family but quite honestly we´re kind of a mess and the things I have seen and live through there, have make me wary to love, or fall for anyone, and yet; there´s the part of me that can not help but fantasize about it, and dream about finding mister right, the blue prince.

That being said, I´m not sure Jack -or Jackson- is the right person and quite honestly I think that a part of me will be disappointed when she ends up her relationship with Stephan and goes back to Jack, ´cause though Stephan is obviously not the right for her, so far nothing has been shown to make me believe that Jack is.

Anyway, I´m still waiting for the third “wise” man to appear and hopefully make me root for him, as a well as for a conclusion or twist that takes me by surprise, but considering this is suppose to be a light Christmas read, maybe I´m hoping for too much? -but then again Bayle seems like a pro at Chrismas writing so.

Have you read The Night Before Christmas by Scarlet Bayle? What are your thoughts? Am I still on for a surprising ride? what are you reading right now? anything Christmassy?

 

 

Leave a Reply

