Posted in Loved it/Hated it

#randomFridays.-Heartless “Review”

Loved it-hated it

rf

 

Random Fridays is a weekly meme originally hosted and created by Rebeca at “Books and Messy Buns”, that anyone can join.

Since her blog has gone through some changes and I really liked her weekly memes, I asked for her permission to continue with them and here we are.

Anyhow to participate you just have to do the following:

  • Pick up the book you’re currently reading (or read last)
  • Go to this random number generator and insert the total amount of pages in your book.
  • Generate a random number.
  • Open your book in the page with number you got
  • Repeat step 2 and 3 but with the number of lines in that page.
  • Your random sentence is the first sentence in the line with the number you got (it doesn’t matter if the sentence starts a few lines before)

Note: Please refer the creator of the meme and the host (this blog/this post) in your own post and leave a comment down below with a link to your RF so all the participant can have a look and share their thoughts too!

My Random Sentence:

Jest sighed. ´I figured as much. I suppose I´ll have to find another way to make this impossibility possible.´

This! This sentence right here it´s why I fell in love with Jest and why the ending of this book made me want to cry. ´Cause even though I knew from the get-go that it would end badly -after all, it´s suppose to be a prequel to C.S. Lewis´ Alice in Wonderland-, a part of me couldn´t help but want to believe that the impossible would be possible and somehow things wouldn´t end as tragically as they did.

Anyhow as I´m sure I have mentioned before, I´m part of a community of nail art and book lovers called The Polished Bookworms -I think you can see some of the nail art posted on Instagram– where we choose a book to read each month and then discuss it as well as post picture of our nails.

32826931
This was the cover I got, quite different from the traditional one with the rose thorns, and you know what? I actualy loved it!

So… January´s read was Heartless by Marissa Meyer, who is also the author of The Lunar Chronicles of which I have only read Cinder ´cause I wasn´t a fan -I know! Unpopular opinion over here-; anyway as you can imagine due to the fact I wasn´t a fan of Cinder, I was… let´s say less than thrilled when Heartless was chosen, but since last year I didn´t read most of the books listed in the group, I decided to give it a chance.

Sufficient to say that once I got going, I could barely let it down ´cause I absolutely loved it! I fell in love with the characters and Wonderland all over again, and though the story was sad in the end, I couldn´t help but love it too.

The idea that the Queen of Hearts was actually a kind and passionate young woman that only wanted to fulfill her dream of being the best baker of the kingdom and find love, only to be denied the opportunity by her family and her sense of responsibility, is brilliantly sad and beautiful; specially when you get to know her as Lady Katherine Pinkerton, and think to yourself how?, how does a person like this becomes the crazy and tyrant Queen of Hearts?; but then… there are glimpses, glimpses that let you know that yes indeed, there´s something underneath.

Granted one could say that Katherine´s misfortune is all of her own doing and that she could have escaped her destiny if she really wanted to, but as far as I see it, sometimes circumstances can destroy all the plans that we have set.

Meyer was also able to paint with her words a pretty captivating picture of Hearts -a place I never thought as a country of Wonderland before- and all of its citizens; from Cheshire to the King of Hearts, the Mad Hatter, Mare, etc. And even manage to include the Jabberwocky!  Giving them all twist and turns and still somehow managing to keep them true to their most recognizable portraits; so is no wonder that after many, many years, I feel like reading Alice in Wonderland once again; ´cause I´m sure now I´ll see the characters in another light.

So yeah, I loved this book, so much that I think I wouldn´t actually mind reading more of her work and I just might give The Lunar Chronicles another go.

Anyway, if you love fantasy and magic, romance and adventure, don´t mind a slow build up, nor twist on classic fairy tales, you might just love Heartless as much as I did, then again I must warn you; don´t go reading this book expecting a happy ending.

 

 

Leave a Reply

