Posted in Loved it/Hated it

#1sentenceWednesdays.- Eleanor & Park “Review”

Loved it-hated it

1sw-v2

One Sentence Wednesdays is a weekly meme originally hosted and created by Rebeca at “Books and Messy Buns”,that anyone can join.

Since her blog is going through some changes and I really like her weekly memes, I asked for her permission to continue with them and here we are.

To participate all you have to do is:

Pick up the book you’re currently reading -or read last-, think about what it made you feel -is making you feel-. Describe it in one sentence, make a post in your own blog sharing your sentence and link back to my blog as the host. Finally, share the link to your post in the comments section here for the book community to see:)

Note: Please refer the creator of the meme and the host (this blog/this post) in your own post and leave a comment down below with a link to your 1SW so all the participant can have a look and share their thoughts too!

My Sentence is:

I wish this book had existed when I was a teenager

– about Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

That´s the first thought that ran through my mind right after I finished reading Eleanor & Park, quickly followed by: “Why didn´t I read this book before!”

I just love this book, I fell in love with it right from the get-go, because it could have easily been just another YA-Romance story but, in true Rainbow Rowell´s fashion is much more than that. Is a coming of age story, with both painful and hopeful, filled with sweet and swoon worthy moments and sad-reflexive ones.

18680821I wasn´t prepared for E&P to touch me as deeply as deeply as it did but in hindsight, I should have been, ´cause if there´s something I have learned reading other works by Rainbow Rowell, is that she never pulls any punches, and there´s always something unconventional, inside the apparent conventionalism.

But I guess that what really got to me apart from the romance was Eleanor´s situation, ´cause it partially reflected some things I had to live through back when I was a kid and a teenager, things that made me cry and feel miserable, like I had no one to talk to, to be there for me and share the burden with, that I had it terrible and everyone else lived happily while in my house…

Now I know that that wasn´t the case, that I should have spoken with somebody, or at least have someone to speak to, that there are so many people that have it worse; but back then, back then I could have really used a book like this one, because it doesn´t hide from the things that happen in real life, and seeing it written makes you realize that there are so many things not ok with this kind of situation, like keeping quiet, like doing nothing to get out of it expect bear with it, ´cause while Eleanor  and I were lucky, there are so many people out there who aren´t.

And then, there was Park and there was Tina, the kids that apparently have it all but didn´t get it; except that now I can see that even though the life of one person can seem perfect at first glance, that´s not necessarily true, and that doesn´t mean that these people don´t have things that make them suffer or affect how they feel of themselves. Granted of both Tina and Eleanor, Park had it better, but still.

The point is that sometimes we are so invested in our things, on what it´s happening to us, that we tend to overlook what´s happening right in front of us, namely the Tina situation in this case, which was alluded to, but nobody but Steve saw, which I found both funny and tragic ´cause in some ways I think he was Tina´s Park. The hero who saved her.

Which is what Park was from the get go, the safe heaven that kept Eleanor going and taught him that she was important and beautiful, that she mattered and that there was something else, something better for her.

So fell in love with Eleanor -´cause I could relate with her issues body image wise, and home wise-, and I fell in love with Park –the kid that just wanted to be himself, that was at the margins of the social circles and yet not completely out, who didn´t know if he should completely embrace himself or just try to keep the peace- and I fell in love with Eleanor & Park a story of love and music, of accepting yourself, of lives cruelties and sweetest things.

But what I really appreciated the most about E&P, in the end, was getting both points of view in this love story, the boy´s and the girl´s, and the fact that they weren´t the typical stereotypes of every other teenage love story we´re all so use to watch and read.

Nothing about them and their story was typical nor cliché, which only made them more real.

So, yes if you like YA and even if you don´t like it, if you just love Romance and coming of age stories, this book here is a must.

One thought on “#1sentenceWednesdays.- Eleanor & Park “Review”

Leave a Reply

